Deviantart.com Gears of War Wallpaper contest result.

Welcome back to The Chatterbox Blog. Today I will be going over the deviantart.com Gears of War 3 wallpaper contest.

It’s best to just come out and say it, I didn’t even place in the top 100. I have to admit, I’m slightly baffled by the selections that made it into the top 100. I thought mine turned out to be pretty great, but alot of the drawn or painted submissions that made it were just kind of “so so”. The criteria for judging is listed below.

100 Semi-Finalists will be selected by full-time deviantART Staff.

From the Semi-Finalists, the final three winners will be selected by a member(s) of Epic Game’s creative team!

All entries will be judged on the following criteria:
Visual Impact and Clarity
Success in Communicating the Subject Matter of the Challenge
Ability to be Adapted for use as a Wallpaper
Technical Skill

Now the goal was to capture the “Soul-Shattering” spirit of the Gears of Wars series, while also advertising Gears of War 3. Here are some of the entries that left me scratching my head…

 

Obviously mine is the first one with no comments underneath, but it’s a decent comparison. On the other hand, there were some killer entries. I alsways enjoy the artwork when it involves a Brumak or Corpser!  😀

In closing, I had a good time doing the artwork for the contest and it got me to take another interest in the graphic design field. I just think the judging was a little screwy. With a potential $10,000 payday on the line, it’s perfectly normal to feel a little wronged if the judging criteria wasn’t followed to a T. I’m happy to have the itch to be artistic again, but this contest was somewhat of a joke. I knew I should have sketched a pic of Marcus, Dom, and the Locust gang in Speedos at a pool party! 😀 If you read, please leave a comment whether you agree with me or feel I’m being a sore loser (that could actually be the case).

Save Room 4 Love,

Brad (The Chatterbox)

About officialchatterbox

Husband, Father, Digital Photographer, Graphic and Web Designer, Cartoonist, and CSR to the greatest Sports Car Course in the World! I love movies, movie quotes, music, music lyrics, Halloween, Christmas, camping, outdoor activities, traveling, long walks on the beach, and puppies! :D

Posted on October 7, 2011, in Artwork, Video Games. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

