DeviantArt.com Gears of War 3 contest!

Welcome back to The Chatterbox Blog. Today, I’m sharing some exclusive work I did for the DeviantArt.com Gears of War 3 wallpaper contest. There will be 100 winners announced, but the top 3 get the biggest prizes.

1st Place

  • $10,000 Cash Prize (USD)
  • Xbox 360 Gears of War 3 Limited Edition Console Bundle
  • 8,000 deviantART Points
  • dA PRO Digital Artist’s Backpack
  • deviantWEAR T-Shirt of the Winner’s Choice*
  • 1 Year Premium Membership to deviantART

2nd Place

  • $1,000 Cash Prize (USD)
  • Gears of War 3 Game
  • Xbox 360 4GB Console
  • 5,000 deviantART Points
  • dA PRO Digital Artist’s Backpack
  • deviantWEAR T-Shirt of the Winner’s Choice*
  • 6-Month Premium Membership to deviantART

3rd Place

  • $750 Cash Prize (USD)
  • Gears of War 3 Game
  • Xbox 360 4GB Console
  • 3,000 deviantART Points
  • dA PRO Digital Artist’s Backpack
  • deviantWEAR T-Shirt of the Winner’s Choice*
  • 3-Month Premium Membership to deviantART

*The remaining 97 Semi-Finalists will receive $200 cash, a copy of Gears of War 3, and a 1-Month Premium Membership to deviantART!*

To win 1st would be killer, but basically I’m testing myself to see if I could honestly make it in the graphic design world. It had been YEARS since I attempted a design project professionally so I was a little rusty. When somebody once said “if you don’t use it, you lose it” truer words were never spoken, even if they weren’t talking about artistic ability. I had to retrain my brain to think in an artistic setting and above is what I came up with. I submitted my work and THEN read the official contest rules (funny how that worked, right?) and I noticed that I put the logo in the bottom right hand corner and they said to not put the official logo anywhere on it. So I edited and resubmitted…

Viola! I was really satisfied with how it turned out. I went a little crazy with layers, but I think every piece contributed to my genius! I think there are a total of 35 layers in this piece. Enjoy!

In closing, I will find out if I’m even in the top 100 for the contest early next week. I had such a great time creating this and it really has me motivated to take my education to the next level and make another serious attempt at the digital media world. I’m going to start doing more art projects and posting them. Please feel free to give me feedback. Positive… Negative… Neutral… it doesn’t really matter. I’m always looking to improve my skills so I’m open. Thanks for viewing!

 

Save Room 4 Love,

Brad (The Chatterbox)

About officialchatterbox

Husband, Father, Digital Photographer, Graphic and Web Designer, Cartoonist, and CSR to the greatest Sports Car Course in the World! I love movies, movie quotes, music, music lyrics, Halloween, Christmas, camping, outdoor activities, traveling, long walks on the beach, and puppies! :D

Posted on September 29, 2011, in Artwork and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

