Advice from a “Responsible Adult”!

Good afternoon and welcome back to The Chatterbox Blog. Today, I will be writing about being a responsible adult because apparently, I am one. Who would have thought it, eh?

The reason I say that I am a responsible adult is because I’ve been asked advice by a couple of my younger peers through facebook and twitter. I’m not sure my answer was what they are looking for… my response was that the best advice I can give when it comes to graphic design and digital media is to not ask for advice.

As an artist, you are commiting professional suicide if you are trying to emulate somebody else’s style or somebody else’s work. Sure, everybody loves a good parody artist and it’s fine to do that, but eventually you start to become lost in the sea of faces. You need to be original and do what feels great for you. Try and fail. Try again and fail again. Each time you do something that doesn’t work out is a learning experience. Learn from mistakes and move on to a bigger, better YOU! Be the one who people want to imitate! Maybe that’s a little bit of advice, but I think they got my point lol. Personally, I have yet to find the success that I believe I’m capable of, but I’m still working at it.

I understand that as an adult, I can no longer do things on impulse and blame it on being immature. I can’t expect my kid to eat a plate full of spinnach, brocolli, etc. if I’m eating a bowl of M&Ms. Aside from that, I’m an avid believer in having fun with your kids and family. So if you see me out at a local Walmart playing tickle monster with my kid and we’re being too noisy, just be glad I’m having fun and not yelling at my kids and letting them destroy things in the store. You… are… welcome. I don’t know when people became so uptight and snobby, but people will not change who I am to my family. I’d love to read some comments, so hook it up. Until next time…

Save Room 4 Love,

Brad (The Chatterbox)

About officialchatterbox

Husband, Father, Digital Photographer, Graphic and Web Designer, Cartoonist, and CSR to the greatest Sports Car Course in the World! I love movies, movie quotes, music, music lyrics, Halloween, Christmas, camping, outdoor activities, traveling, long walks on the beach, and puppies! :D

Posted on September 11, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

